PISOG NIN USWAG winners bared

PISOG NIN USWAG winners bared

The Catanduanes State University (CSU) sponsored research derby dubbed as PISOG NIN USWAG held on February 22, 2019 at CSU Accreditation Room bared this year’s winners as it accepted student researches in Science and Technology category and Social Sciences, Business, Humanities and Education category.

Dr. Minerva I. Morales, CSU President, who also led the Board of Evaluators, announced this year’s finalists and winners in the said event which is also under the auspices of the Research, Extension and Production Office headed by Vice-President, Dr. Lily P. Custodio and its Research and Development Services Office led by Director, Dr. Jimmy T. Masagca.

 Jane Xena F. Rodriguez, student-researcher from the College of Arts and Sciences (CAS) garnered the Best Paper award with her research, entitled, “Potential Cytotoxic and Antiangiogenic Activities of Nypa fruticans Endosperm Ethanolic Crude Extract.”

Miguela T. Cabrera, also from the College of Arts and Sciences (CAS), got the Second Best Paper award with her research, entitled, “Catanduanes ‘Tagakan’ Abaca Core Wine.”

A team of student-researchers from the College of Engineering composed of Zei-jay A. Laparan, Michell M. Manlangit, John Edward A. Talaran, and Ma. Alyssa T. Tomagan were awarded the Third Best Paper in their research entitled, “Development of Soil Testing Device for Abaca Plantation.”

Other competing papers who made it to the finals in the Science and Technology category were: (1.) Recirculating Solar Egg Incubator by Jayson M. Gianan, Aljon T. Turbolencia, Ronel A. Ibatuan, Jose Javier S. Solmirano, and Wilmark T. Tulod; (2.) Design and Construction of Multi-functional Formal and Semi-formal Dress Attire by Joven T. Anonuevo; (3.) Diversity of Mangrove Species in Batalay, Bato, Catanduanes by Clarisse T. de Mesa, Dhoramae T. Bautista, and Kenneth T. Barba; (3.) Diversity of Mangrove Species in Manambrag, San Andres, Catanduanes by Aira Salve T. Fernandez, Antuanette Laxamana, and Mark Vincent C. Ariate.

In the Social Sciences category, other finalist papers were: (1.) Credit Financing of Sari-Sari Stores in Cavinitan, Virac, Catanduanes by Nur John B. Lanon, Gimel Jay S. Palacio, Warren Tamares, and Ian Gregg A. Tan; (2.) Extent of Implementation of Provincial Ordinance No. 018-2017 (The Catanduanes Crab Center) in Municipality of Panganiban, Catanduanes by Angelie V. Pamplona, and Leslie G. Torrecampo; and, (3.) Awareness and Preparedness on the Powers and Functions of Elected Sanguniang Kabataan Officials in the Municipality of Baras, Catanduanes by Arlene I. Lopez and Lorelyn Imperial.

Meanwhile, this year’s members of the Board of Evaluators were:  Dr. Lily P. Custodio, VP-REPA, Engr. Norly A. Tabo, Provincial Field Team Leader, DICT; Jaime V. Cabrera, Provincial Director, DOST; and Heginio A. Baldano, Provincial Director, DTI.

247total visits,1visits today